Boards And Commissions

Advertising & Promotions Commission

Composed of seven members as follows: Four owners or managers of businesses in the tourism industry, at least three of whom are owners or managers of hotels, motels, or restaurants, and all of whom are appointed by the City Council for staggered terms of four years; and two are members of and selected by the City Council; and one member from the public at large nominated by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The Commission is the body that determines the use of the City Advertising and Promotion Fund.

Advertising & Promotions Commission Board Members

  • Lousie Fields

  • Larry Freeman

  • YK Patel

  • Justin Reeves

  • Judy Sweet

  • Angela Towner

Civic Center Commission

Composed of five commissioners holding office for a period of five years appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the majority of the City Council. The commission has full and complete authority to build, manage, operate, maintain, and keep in a good state of repair all buildings designated as the Forrest City Civic Center. The commission also has authority to set rates, charges, and fees for the use of the facilities subject to the approval of the City Council.

Civic Center Commission Board

  • Ms. Louise Fields

  • Mrs. Kelly Lewis 

  • Mrs. Chaney Murray 

  • Mr. Melvin Tinsley

  • Mrs. Linda Watson

  • Ms. Earnestine Weaver 

Delta Regional Airport Commission

Composed of eight members appointed by the participating municipalities for six year terms, each of whom is a resident and qualified elector of the county or municipality represented. The commission is authorized and empowered to acquire, equip, construct, maintain, and operate a regional airport or landing field and facilities to best serve the region and to keep a record of all revenues and expenditures involving its activities, its properties and facilities and is required to submit reports to the Mayor and City Council on a monthly basis.

Delta Regional Airport Commission Board

Residential Housing Facilities Board

Consists of five members who are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The Board is responsible for overseeing the expenditure of funds for housing and community development and is also responsible for developing policies for meeting community needs for affordable and safe housing.

Residential Housing Facilities Board

Library Board

Consists of five members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The Board has the exclusive control of the expenditures of all moneys collected to the credit of the library fund as well as supervision, care and custody of the facilities set apart for library purposes. The Librarian is appointed by the Board.

Library Board Commission

  • Mrs. Lindsey Hodges 

  • Mrs. Jeanette Jenkins 

  • Mrs. Sandra Wright  

Planning Commission

Composed of five members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council for five year terms. The powers and duties of the commission consist of preparing a plan or plans of the city and to adopt, administer, and implement such plans with the authority and procedure prescribed by Act 186 of 1957.

Planning Commission Board Members

Code Enforcement Officer:

  • Mr. Jeremy Sharpe

  • Mr. Rob Lemeke

  • Mrs. Connie Rice 

  • Ms. Glenda Wade

  • Mr. Benjamin Wynne

Water and Sewer Commission

Consists of five members – one appointed by the Mayor and four appointed by the aldermen from each ward. The purpose of the Board is to direct, manage, control and operate water and sewer utility within the city and in any area in which the city may be lawfully authorized to operate outside the city limits.

Water & Sewer Commission Board